Cork Man elected Macra Munster Vice-President

8 April 2015
By Bryan T. Smyth

The results of the Macra na Feirme Presidential and Vice-Presidential
elections were announced in the Irish Farm Centre, Dublin, yesterday

Seán Finan from Castlerea, Co. Roscommon, a founding member of
Castlerea Macra since 2007 and is currently National Treasurer and
North West Vice-President, has been declared the 35th Macra na Feirme
National President while Gerard Griffin from Mitchelstown Macra club,
Avondhu, Cork was elected for the Munster position.

Speaking after the results of the election, current National
President, Kieran O’Dowd, who presided over the election said, “Best
wishes to all the candidates. This was a great election, highlighting
the best of Macra in terms of leadership, debate and enthusiasm. I’m
confident that Seán, and the 3 Vice Presidents, will serve the
organisation well.”

Current National President Kieran O’Dowd congratulated Gerard on his
appointment and wished him well during his term of office.

Results were also announced in the vice-presidential elections for
Macra regions, Leinster and the North West.

Caroline O’Dowd from South Sligo Macra was declared the winner in the
North-West race. Odile Evans from Johnstown/ Coolgreaney Macra club
has been elected as Leinster vice-president.

The three new vice-presidents will take up their positions alongside
president-elect, Sean, at Macra’s AGM.

Photo Captions:

National President and Three VPs

National President Elect, Seán Finan, Castlerea Macra, Roscommon
(second from right); with (left to right) Munster Vice President,
Gerard Griffin, Mitchelstown Macra, Avondhu, Cork; North West Vice
President, Caroline O’Dowd, South Sligo Macra; and Leinster Vice
President, Odile Evans, Johnstown/ Coolgreaney Macra, Wicklow.

Munster VP with President

You must be logged in to post a comment Login