Awards for Cork Bus Éireann’s employees

9 December 2019
By Mary Bermingham

Safety Ambassador, Albert McCarthy, Cork Depot

On 4th December 2019, Bus Éireann celebrated its employees’ success in 2019 at the annual GEM (‘Go the Extra Mile’) Awards ceremony in Croke Park that recognised excellent customer service, community impact, performance and forward-thinking.

Now in its second year, the awards were issued in a number of different categories including Depot of the Year, School Bus Driver of the Year, Apprentice of the Year, Craftworker of the Year, Hero of the Year, Driver of the Year, Executive of the Year and Engineering Operative of the Year.

Five ‘Values Awards’ were also issued to reflect Bus Éireann’s core values: Safety, Customer First, Collaboration, Performance and Forward Thinking.

Three local Bus Éireann employees from Cork were honoured at the awards ceremony. Shane Stanley was awarded ‘Craftworker of the Year’ in recognition of his consistently strong performance and competencies across the range of heavy diesel mechanic applications. Catherine Keating, Staff Officer in Capwell, was awarded ‘Clerical Employee of the Year’ and was especially praised for her excellent customer care skills, positive outlook, commitment and dedication to all tasks undertaken. Cork driver Albert McCarthy took home the ‘Safety Ambassador’ award for his work highlighting safety issues in a professional, methodical manner.

In congratulating the winners, Stephen Kent, Bus Éireann Chief Executive Officer said: “2019 has been a landmark year for Bus Éireann and we have our fantastic team of dedicated colleagues to thank for all that has been achieved to date.

As Ireland’s national bus company, our purpose is to connect people with who and what matters to them, helping to make life better. In 2018, 83 million passenger journeys were made across all of our services. The GEM Awards celebrate and recognise the exceptional contributions of Bus Éireann employees who consistently ‘go the extra mile’ for our customers. We have ambitious plans and our employees are intrinsic to our future as we implement an extensive service enhancement programme over the next 18 months, which will benefit our customers and continue to drive further growth in public transport usage”.

The full list of winners are as follows:

• Craftworker of the Year, Shane Stanley, Cork Depot
• Road Passenger Driver of the Year, Pat Gorman, Broadstone
• School Bus Driver of the Year, Caillian Ellis, Sligo Depot
• Apprentice of the Year, Paul Matthews, Tralee Garage
• Engineering Operative of the Year, Pat Ryan, Limerick Depot
• Clerical Employee of the Year, Catherine Keating, Capwell, Cork
• Executive of the Year, Antoinette Collins, Broadstone
• Foreman of the Year, Vincent Scally, Broadstone
• Supervisor of the Year, Paul Gillespie, Athlone Depot
• Leader of the Year, Danny McCarthy, Broadstone
• Peer of the Year, Sinead Hearne, Waterford Depot
• Hero Award, Andrew Lynch, Rosslare Harbour, Wexford
• Community Award (2 Awards): Paul Fitzpatrick and Simon Byrne, Broadstone
• Environment Award, Harry Crofton, Broadstone
• Safety Ambassador, Albert McCarthy, Cork Depot
• Customer First Ambassador, Jim McFaul, Monaghan Depot
• Collaboration Ambassador, David Poynton, Broadstone
• Forward-Thinking Ambassador, Eugene O’Brien, Broadstone
• Performance Ambassador, Sean Kyne, Galway Depot
• Team of the Year, Tralee Garage Maintenance Staff
• Depot of the Year, Galway Depot

You must be logged in to post a comment Login