Sean Kelly MEP welcomes new electoral boundaries

Fine Gael MEP Sean Kelly has welcomed five new counties to his Ireland
South constituency, as revealed by the Constituency Commission report
on the new European electoral boundaries, published today (September

“I am happy that the newly extended South constituency will still
cover Kerry, Cork, Tipperary, Limerick and Waterford.

“In addition, the revised Ireland South boundary will also include
Clare, Carlow, Kilkenny, Wicklow and Wexford according to the report
published this evening.

“This new constituency extends from my home county of Kerry and across
Munster incorporating neighbouring counties that I know very well. I
am very familiar with the additional counties particularly through
sport, as a former GAA President.

“It makes sense to extend the boundary to the neighbouring Carlow,
Kilkenny, Wexford and Wicklow. County Clare previously belonged to the
former Munster constituency so I am delighted to see it attached to
the other Munster counties within Ireland South again.”

Concluding, Mr Kelly added: “My priority is ensuring Ireland South is
represented at EU level and I look forward to engaging with my new
constituents and continuing to be a strong voice in Europe”.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login