Presentation of UCC Sports Scholarships 2010/11

University College Cork
UCC Sports Stars will be honoured this evening (Monday 1st November 2010) when in excess of 100 Sports Scholarships will be presented to students at the university. This year, 21 club sports are being recognised including Canoe and Show Jumping (Equestrian) for the first time with Men’s Basketball and Tennis making a welcome return.

Mr Con O’Brien, Vice-President for the Student Experience who will present the scholarships said: “Once again the number of students in UCC excelling in sports applying for a Sports Scholarship is extremely high. Over 100 students received Sports Scholarships this year.”

Sports being honoured include Rowing, Handball, Ladies Gaelic Football, Equestrian, Sailing, Badminton, Rugby, Soccer, Ladies Soccer, Hurling, Golf, Ladies & Men’s Hockey, Gaelic Football, Camogie, Canoe, Basketball, Athletics, Tennis, Modern Pentathlon and Volleyball.

The success of the UCC Senior Rugby team in the All Ireland League last season and the U21’s in the All Ireland Club championship sees 9 rugby scholarships awarded, with 9 ladies hockey awardees complementing their success in the Munster Senior League and All Ireland League. International basketball, volleyball and hockey players are being recognised in addition to International rowers, canoeists and sailors.

Two of Ireland’s most promising young rowers will receive awards this evening – Justin Ryan and Peter Hanily. They won silver medals at the recent World U23 Rowing Championships and are future Olympian hopefuls.

15 students will also receive Munster Council GAA Bursaries including Denise Leahy and Cian O’Conchuir who will receive administration bursaries.

Double All Ireland hurling medal winner Michael Cahill will receive the EMC Scholarship.

Cadbury Ireland are also continuing their sponsorship of aspiring U21 Gaelic Footballers in addition to their sponsorship of the All Ireland U21 Series. Barry O’Driscoll (Cork) and Paul Geaney (Kerry) are this year’s recipients of the Cadbury U21 awards.

The Bank of Ireland, proud sponsors of the UCC Sports Clubs are again sponsoring three scholarships this year for aspiring first years. The recipients are: Patrick Maher – Athletics, Andrew Neville – Soccer, and Aine Curran – Ladies Hockey.

The inaugural recipient of the Cork City Football Club Scholarship is Michael McSweeney. UCC Soccer Club and Cork City are developing links to strengthen soccer in Cork. UCC Soccer Club began its Player Development Programme last year and it has grown substantially this year. Cork City sees this Programme as a means of developing aspiring 18/20 year olds who can go on to play League of Ireland soccer on graduation and are strongly endorsing the programme. This year 3 players will receive “Player Development Awards” as distinct from the Scholarship Scheme. The inaugural recipients of these awards are Eoin Kilcommins, Max Taaffe, and Kyle O’Shea.

Two UCC sporting heroes are being remembered again this year. The Jason Foley Memorial Scholarship, now in its fourth year, is in honour of the memory of Jason Foley who died on the basketball court of sudden cardiac death syndrome while playing for his local club Glenmary BC Midleton. Daniel O’Sullivan is this year’s awardee. Daniel has just begun his senior basketball career with UCC Demons following an outstanding underage career with Ballincollig Basketball Club.

Three scholarships are being awarded in memory of Jonathan Herlihy who drowned tragically while attempting to save two others from drowning. Daniel and William Kearny and Eoin O’Sullivan are rewardees.

Family, friends, coaches, and college personnel will join the recipients at this evening’s function which is organised by UCC’s Office of Sport and Recreation.

The Presentation of Scholarships takes place this evening (Monday 1st November 2010) at 6pm in the Aula Maxima, UCC.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login