Glanmire Macra Team Win Gold at the FBD Capers Competition

10th February 2015
By Elaine Murphy

The All-Ireland final of Macra’s variety entertainment contest, the
FBD Capers competition, took place in the Solstice Centre, Navan,
Meath last Saturday night. Glanmire Macra, Seandun, Cork were awarded
the national title for the first time in the club’s history while
their producer Daniel O’ Regan, Kinsale Macra, was also awarded the
accolade of Best Producer.

Speaking at the event, James Healy, Macra Munster Vice President,
said, “Another great night at the FBD Capers competition showing Macra
clubs’ talent on the stage. Congratulations to the winners and a
special thanks to our sponsors, FBD, for their continued support”.

Three other teams from Cork performed on the night; they were Banteer
Macra, Avondhu, Ballinascarthy Macra, Carbery, as well as Clonakilty
Macra, Carbery, who finished in second place. Mountmellick Macra,
Laois, finished in third place. In total over 30 people from Glanmire
travelled including cast, crew and supporters.

Other prizes given on the night included Best Act went to ‘Lean on
Me’, Ballinascarthy Macra, Carbery, Cork; Best Female Performer was AC
Reynolds, Mountmellick Macra, Laois and Best Male Performer was Kieran
O’Sullivan, Clonakilty Macra, Carbery, Cork.

Macra’s FBD Capers is a competition designed for clubs wishing to gain
experience in producing and performing a light entertainment variety
show, with performances ranging from singing and dancing to comedy and

The Glanmire show, entitled ‘Fliuch n’ Wet’, showcased the huge
variety of talents on offer within the club including high-energy
disco dancing and break dancing as well as hilarious comedy and
haunting acapella choral singing. This is the second national title
Glanmire Macra has won in the space of two months as they also won the
National Team Public Speaking title in Galway in December. The cast
have been hard at work since September/October and the award is a
testament to their motivation and dedication.

Winning team photo

Pictured at the Macra na Feirme FBD Capers Final 2015 are Glanmire
Macra, County Cork. Back row (l-r): Louise Deveroux, Karen Cashman,
Patrick Healy, Killian Woods, Dermot Sheahan, Seamus Reid, Will Daly,
Donal O’Callaghan, Mags Ambrose &Tanya O’Sullivan. Front row (l-r):
Emily O’Dowd, James Healy, Munster Vice-President Macra na Feirme,
Noel Hickey, FBD, & Jennifer Barry.

Glanmire with Best Producer

Pictured at the Macra na Feirme FBD Capers Final 2015 are overall
winners, Glanmire Macra, Seandun, County Cork. Front centre is Daniel
O’Regan, Kinsale Macra, who won Best Producer for his work on the act.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login