Carrigaline Notes

29 March 2016
By Bryan Smyth

Local town Notes
Local Town Notes

Pipe Band

The Carrigaline Pipe Band kept up the tradition and played in the Church grounds after 11.15 am Mass on Easter Sunday morning. In the past the Pipe Band played in parade through the village but due to the ever-increasing traffic it is not possible at present. The Pipe Band have a busy schedule in the year ahead, the band’s next engagement is the 1916 commemoration event in Camden Fort Meagher on Sunday 24th April 24th. Enquiries Erica Breen 086 194 2774

Carrigaline Men to the Fore in Easter Celebrations

While Carrigaline had no Easter Parade this year the parish was well represented nationally. Central to the celebrations in O’Connell Street Dublin were Minister for Defence, Agricultural, Food and the Marine, Simon Coveney T.D. and Chief of Staff of the Defence Forces of Ireland Vice Admiral Mark Mellett, DSM. Rev Adrian Curran OFM Cap was Chief celebrant at the Vigil of the Resurrection of the Lord on Saturday night, which was televised on RTE 1. Many others from Carrigaline were also involved in the celebrations and many travelled to Dublin to stay with family and friends for the weekend.

Easter Ceremonies

Large congregations attended all the Easter Ceremonies in the Church of Our Lady and St John, Carrigaline over the weekend. The ceremonial washing the feet of 12 members of the congregation took place at the mass of the Lords Supper on Thursday night. The Stations of the Cross on Good Friday were performed in pageant by pupils of the Carrigaline Community School and other young people. Choirs including the Youth Group, Folk Group, Church Choir and the Gospel Choir sang at masses over the weekend.

Tidy Towns

The 2016 Carrigaline Tidy Towns season will be launched on Wednesday next April 6th at 7 pm at the Owenabue Car Park. Starting on Wednesday volunteers meet at the Owenabue Car Park at 7pm and on Saturday mornings at 10.30 am. Anyone with ideas to help the Tidy Towns project is welcome to come and talk to the committee. For further information contact the Chairman, Liam O’Connor, 087 781 7857, Hon Secretary Ger O’Hara 086 166 1049 or email or Maura Allen 086 867 0222.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login